Unashamedly Christian

I am not a typical Christian in some regards and in other ways I am. But what I realized this morning while reading in the Gospel of Mark is that I love Biblical scripture. I may struggle with believing it to be the inspired words of God. I may doubt its infallibility. But in the same way that I enjoy reading matters of political philosophy, religions of the world, the works of C.S. Lewis (both fiction and nonfiction), and Tolkiens Middle Earth stories, I truly love the Bible above all.

While others cleave to their intuitive nature, or other works such as the Communist Manifesto, the writings of Plato or Socrates, the Vedas, the Koran, etc… I rely on Biblical writings to guide my worldview and my logic. Some see this as following an ancient tradition that has no place in modern society. But I see it as my center ethos, without which I would be a vagabond on the waves of culture.

I choose Jesus. He makes sense to me.

I am not sorry about my decision and I will NOT (wow, I missed the word ‘not’ when proof-reading, sorry about that) berate others who choose otherwise. The two greatest commandments require me to love;

love God with all that I am, and

love everyone else with a sincere and personable passion.

I hope I can live up to those standards.

What do you believe unashamedly?

Keith

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

