The worlds we build for ourselves…

I like to think of myself as a pursuer of truth.  As someone who can look at the facts of anything objectively: religion, relationships, parenting, work issues, etc…

 

Brick wall

Brick wall (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

But reality, the place where I think truth resides, tells me differently.  It says that while I believe I pursue truth, I really just open my eyes to see the things that I want to see.  I mind my own business when it comes to the suffering of others because I don’t want to get involved, or I have enough to do in my own world already.  So I put a brick in the wall and I label it: human trafficking.  I put another brick in my wall and I label it: child abuse and molestation.  I add more bricks: spousal abuse, corporate dishonesty, crooked politicians at all levels, homeless people, intellectual disabled children and adults, public education, the needs of others…. and the list could continue.

 

My wall is rather large and recently some pieces started crumbling down around me.  I don’t know what I will do with those bricks, but it appears that I am working on putting them back in their place as soon as possible.

 

What’s my point?

 

“For if a man should live many years, let him rejoice in them all, and let him remember the days of darkness, since they will be many. All that comes is futile.” Ecclesiastes 11:8

 

But then you get Jesus saying: “I have told you these things so that in Me you may have peace. You will have suffering in this world. Be courageous! I have conquered the world.” John 16:33

 

My only beef with the scripture from John is that Jesus was talking specifically to his disciples about their suffering, not about future believers suffering.  However, the principle does seem to carry over.  Why would he only have overcome the world for them?

 

But does that help the abused, neglected, raped, beaten, frightened, or addicted amongst us?  Some would say it does if they will believe it.  Others would say we are all living a delusional lie that we built for ourselves in order to cope with the harsh realities of this world.

 

What do you believe?  How are we in denial or avoiding talks about reality?  Football? Movies that allow us to escape our everyday lives?  The same for television, the Internet, our smartphones, and anything else you can think of.

 

Finally, I am sleepy.  Good night.

 

Keith

 

 

Tagged , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “The worlds we build for ourselves…

  1. johnbullock says:

    Keith you are entirely correct. I feel that seeking the truth becomes almost futile. There is no objective ‘real’ truth – only the world as you, yourself perceive it. Hence your truth is not mine. I really enjoy your thought processes and look forward to more. Thank you & Best Wishes. John

    http://unquietmindpoetry.wordpress.com
    http://johnbullock.wordpress.com
    http://johnbullock17.wordpress.com
    http://allpoetry.com/John_Bullock

    • Keith Wadley says:

      Thanks, John, for re-blogging and for commenting. I am not a frequent blogger. It is more of a marathon for me. Something I can leave my children to help explain who their dad was and why I do/did some things that don’t make sense at times.

      Cheers,

      Keith

  2. johnbullock says:

    Reblogged this on An Unquiet Mind and commented:
    Thankyou Keith & Very thought provoking Blog, I’ll certainly be following. Kind Regards. John

Leave a Reply

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

dreamwalker1960

Thoughts out of the blue

