What is wrong with us?

As a Christian I am ashamed of myself. Here is reality:
1. Everyday in your community a child is being raped, beaten, psychologically tormented, and otherwise destroyed.
2. Everyday a wife in your neighborhood is getting subjected to the torture of herself and her children at the hands of the one person who should be protecting them.
3. Everyday someone on your street is trying to escape their depression through any means at their disposal – alcohol, drugs, self-inflicted mutilation, etc…
4. Everyday an inmate at any one of our prisons wonders if his or her life is able to be salvaged or if society will ever give them a second chance. They wonder how they can change when nothing has changed for them.
5. Everyday a foster child and teen wonders if this world is really all their is with its hate, pain, suffering, and neglect.
6. Everyday a gang member depends on their gang family to fill their needs of love, loyalty, trust, and respect.
7. Everyday a child, teen, mom, dad, grandparents, etc… wonders how they will feed themself and those that depend on them.

The list goes on.

Everyday I fail to give my all to search out and find those in need. I fail to feed the hungry, clothe the naked, and visit those in our prisons. I fail to look after the widow and the orphan. These are not nice “ideals” from the Bible people. These are commands. Commands with a promise – if you love Jesus you will obey what he commands. What happens if you obey? Reality: You validate your beliefs which confirms your salvation. You don’t get to leave this world of suffering and pain to experience no more tears without validation of the heart through your works. Faith without works is dead.

As Ecclesiastes says, fear God and obey what He commands.

I am ashamed of my lack of deeds. Not because I want people to see me as some righteous sage, but so folks will see my good deeds and glorify my Father in heaven. I want them to experience the love, reconciliation, and fear of God that gives true meaning to why we are here and what to do about it.

But the reality is this: I will wake up tomorrow a chicken again. I will be afraid to share what I believe is truth to the random stranger or the endeared friend. I will fail again to search out the orphan, widow, homeless, abused, and neglected among me. I will continue to live my life how I think it should be lived.

And then what? People are going to suffer and die all around me without hope.

Now these three remain: faith, hope, and love. But the greatest of these is love. 1 Cor. 13

Maybe, just maybe, I will wake up and still desire to make a difference and then act on it.

Keith

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “What is wrong with us?

  1. amandajewel says:

    You are so hard on yourself. You do good even when you don’t recognize it. You’ve helped me and it took a loooooong time to actually see it. Even kindness towards a stranger can bring light into someone’s day. And that is a big part of sharing God. You don’t always have to be a huge spotlight and say “LOOK! THIS IS GOD! SEE?!”” You have to recognize each delicate situation and what it calls for. Sometimes, just a spark in the dark, just a tiny candle, can shed light onto LOVE. And God is love.

    The 2 most important commandments, and I know you know them…

    Matthew 22: 37-40 Jesus replied: ” ‘Love the Lord our God with all your heart, with all your soul, and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself’ all the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.”

    So when you are the light that is needed for that situation, you are revealing God’s love to others. You are loving God as you should, and you are loving your neighbor by sharing His love. Even making a small difference is still making a difference. You can’t save the world, little brother. You are only one man. But you can be light to those you meet each day. And I have seen this in you.

    I love you.

    Sissy

Leave a Reply

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

dreamwalker1960

Thoughts out of the blue

