Anger and Reconciliation with Western Christianity

Key points from today:

1. When the practice of your faith is different from everyone else’s that you are seeing around you of the same belief system, then it causes you to question your salvation or adherence to the faith.

2. I am not trying to lay judgment on church organization as much as I am on the lack of unity within the church as a whole, and concern/care for others.

3. God, Jesus, the Holy Spirit are not your friends.  This needs to leave your vocabulary.  If you believe this then show me scripture that matches it.  God desires a relationship with you, but the closest thing it resembles that we know of is as a Father.  Jesus is never said to be our friend (our mediator, yes, but that doesn’t mean Jesus is a lawyer either).

4. God is Holy and Righteous.  When we truly understand this in our hearts and minds then worship pours out of us naturally.  If you are having trouble worshiping God then learn more about His holiness and righteous attributes and character.  It also explains the necessity of why Jesus did what He did.

5. Thanks to my sis for hooking me up with this message from her church in Tupelo, MS.  The sermon series is “Why we do what we do”.   Great message worth listening to about our judgment of churches, what God desires from us in regards to worship, and some things they do as a church body that would be great if other churches took the same approach (notice I didn’t say “do the same things” but have the same mindset).  I love the passage they used for the basis of the sermon:

Isaiah 1: 11-17; “What are all your sacrifices to Me?” asks the LORD. “I have had enough of burnt offerings and rams and the fat of well-fed cattle; I have no desire for the blood of bulls, lambs, or male goats. When you come to appear before Me, who requires this from you – this trampling of My courts? Stop bringing useless offerings. I despise your incense. New Moons and Sabbaths, and the calling of solemn assemblies – I cannot stand iniquity with a festival.  I hate your New Moons and prescribed festivals. They have become a burden to Me; I am tired of putting up with them. When you lift up  your hands in prayer, I will refuse to look at you; even if you offer countless prayers, I will not listen. Your hands are covered with blood.”

“Wash yourselves. Cleanse yourselves. Remove your evil deeds from My sight. Stop doing evil. Learn to do what is good. Seek justice. Correct the oppressor. Defend the rights of the fatherless. Plead the widow’s cause.”

If the church would pray through this passage corporately and individually.  If we would do this consistently. Wow, what a difference it would make in how we are open to God using us for His purposes, will, and glory.

Classic song, but so true: I Can Only Imagine by Mercy Me

Love to you all,

Keith

Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Anger and Reconciliation with Western Christianity

  1. Ma K says:

    Keith,

    I am chuckling at your photo of the Hulk. It makes us think about little Levi when Grandpa asked him, “Do you have anger issues?’ And the sweetest little voice replied, “Yeah!”

    I think you bring up something very relevant, that most people miss. Simply put: as Christians, what is our purpose??? Somehow in the shuffle of good works and church programs, the awesomeness of God can be missed. The fear of the Lord truly is the BEGINNING of wisdom. That is the foundation of everything else that we do. You are so right that the more we know Him, the more we study about Him and His holiness and His character, the more in awe we will be, the more in love we will be, the more we will bow down and worship Him. And out of that relationship, we are going to go and bear much fruit and follow the definition of true religion and care for others and widows and orphans.

    I do think there is a passage where Jesus says that He no longer calls us servants, but friends, and then goes on to say that a servant doesn’t know what the father is doing, but a friend does. Or am I wrong about that? If I am right, though, I think we need to have a deeper understanding of what that word friend means in the original language. I’ve never done a study on this. But I am very sure it is not friend in the casual way we use that term, or the human way we think about it. After all, David and I have 268 FRIENDS on Facebook! Lol! Obviously, most are acquaintances at best, and only a very small handful are true, intimate friends (if that many). But if we are no longer servants, and are now friends, it is because we are now allowed to have the unthinkable: an INTIMATE relationship with God, not a casual one, nor a flippant one. And out of that intimacy comes the capacity to hear His voice, and know Him, and be filled with His Spirit, to enable us to live a holy, victorious life that is impossible without that.

    Just a few thoughts to throw out there, for what they are worth–not much! ❤

    Love and Hugs,
    Ma K

    • Keith Wadley says:

      Hey MaKim,

      Thanks for the input. Repeat after me, “I will never say, type, or think that my comments are not worth much ever again.”

      I forgot all about the passage where Jesus tells His disciples that they are no longer servants but friends. I wonder if that is meant only to refer to the access we now have to the Father through the Son? Or if it is only about the knowledge aspect? Now we can know what God is up to whereas prior to Christ the message of God’s moving tended to only come through a prophet…I think. Not sure.

      In any of those cases I still agree with what you wrote about our understanding of friendship verses what Jesus might have meant. We are definitely growing more and more lax in our definition of friendship. I still believe that most people do not know one another (see post a couple back where I ask the question, “Who really knows you?” or something along those lines). Anyways, thanks for commenting.

      Later tater,

      Keith

  2. Ma K says:

    Keith,

    Okay, will try to work on not over thinking and work on that, lol!

    I hadn’t thought about it before, but I think you are right about the word friend possibly being used to mean because of Jesus we now have access to the Father and can communicate with Him directly, whereas before we needed a priest or prophet. Good point.

    Your post has prompted me to resolve to start studying Scripture on what the fear of the Lord really means. I’ve had the thought before that I should do it, but I didn’t follow through. Thanks for inspiring me!

    Hugs!
    Ma K. ,

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

