Who really knows you?

“You won’t like me when I’m angry…”

Here is my thesis:

Nobody really knows the depths of another person because we do not speak our thoughts 24/7.

What do I mean by this?  Even my lovely wife does not know the depravity that I possess.  Depravity equals wickedness or evil, or the act of being corrupt.

She knows me better than any person on the planet, but she will never be able to know the secret sins of my mind and heart that go on constantly throughout my day.  I am not walking around being a psycho or serial killer or anything, but the common everyday thoughts that pass through my cranium and that my heart either excuses or condemns and then it goes back to my head for confirmation or justification…  Nobody really knows you.  Nobody except…wait for it…God.

I guess I don’t have a point other than from a judgement perspective.  What brought this pondering on was that Heather and I seem to push people away as far as forming new friendships go.  We are honest people with very eccentric lifestyles and beliefs.  We are not pushy Christians, but we practice our faith at home and out in public without being over-bearing.  We don’t follow mainstream culture hardly at all so that typically isolates us instantly when we tell someone that we don’t have cable or satellite television, but we do have Netflix.  We spank, but also do timeout.  We use both cloth and disposable diapers.  She nurses, but we give our kids fake juice that is loaded with sugar.  It is like we are middle ground dwellers that don’t go fully to the liberal or full to the conservative sides.  People seem to not know what to do with us, and we are not people pleasers (at least Heather is not, I tend to care more about what people think than she does).

So…I think we get judged as being something that we aren’t, and as thinking a certain way when we really don’t.  We are human.  We are sinful.  But we also can be the most trusted companion you have ever had.  We don’t gossip, except to each other, and we will not stab you in the back just to further ourselves.  If you are willing to be open with us about things you disagree with, then guess what? We will not get offended and will be glad to share our opinion of your bad habits with you too!  Ha!

To me that is what makes my life-long friends so cool, accountability and openness.

Good night to you all.  Please don’t judge me.  I know how bad of a person I am.  Let’s all share a little grace with one another and receive God’s grace ourselves with thanksgiving in our hearts for His abundant love, mercy, and forgiveness.

Keith

Leave a Reply

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

dreamwalker1960

Thoughts out of the blue

