Moving On in the Blog World

Well, I am not sure how this is going to work out.  I am going to make a switch from blogging to writing one of my four book ideas as a blog.  I am not sure how long it will be between posts, but I plan on launching an entirely new site.  I hope that my followers (the few of you from wordpress and twitter) will enjoy the change of pace, and maybe it will be even easier to read and gain an even larger followership from.

The new site will be www.americanprophecy.wordpress.com (name subject to change) and it is currently empty.  I have to decide how I am going to do this entirely.  Currently the book is in MS Word and I have about 24 chapters outlined.  I still need to solve the ending order of events and then I can reread to make sure I am ready to start writing.  I will let everyone know via this blog once things are up and going.

The basic premise of the book is that America has split into several separate countries each governed as an independent nation.  This occurred relatively peacefully.  The book will have several characters that it deals with:

1. a daughter of an underground preacher within the United Peoples of America who has a kid (or two, not sure of the number yet).  She is having to decide between owning her faith and getting the food and shelter that her kids and she need to survive

2. the preacher – this guy is a superhero Christian.  We all know that one guy that actually seems to be what Jesus might have been like.  That is this guy and I hope he doesn’t let you down.

3. the chief of police – former deacon, turned completely from the faith and actively pursues intolerant faiths to close them down and prevent further spread.  His wife was raped and murdered long ago leaving behind a son.  The chief turned to alcohol to drown out his nightmare until AA helped him deal with his issues…sort of (this is one of the better stories in the book).

4. the chief’s son – an operator on the police force.  He was 9 when his mom was raped and killed.  He saw his dad go from deacon to alcoholic to a successful career within the city’s police force.

There is also a Muslim guy, a guy from AA the chief is friends with, and several lesser characters.  It is a fun book with social, theological, and political issues to wrestle with.  I am hoping that it will cause people to think about their belief system and judge for themselves what motivates them, why, and maybe cause them to ask “What would I do in that situation?”

Later taters,

Keith

One thought on “Moving On in the Blog World

  1. Ma K says:

    I am looking forward to reading your book tremendously, and in blog form will be just fine, but I will miss your other posts! I may not always read them immediately, but I do read them, and always enjoy your perspective. Can’t wait to read the first chapter! Send something out when you do, please, so we don’t miss it.

    Love you Keith!

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

