Don’t mess with me, my family, or my free will

So there we were, Saturday night, date-night (sort of), and we chose a very serious movie, The Pianist, a horrible reality of what Jews went through in the Warsaw ghetto of World War II. Watch the trailer here.

One scene in particular dumbfounded me.  There was a work detail of about 20 men headed in at the end of a long days work.  Six Jews are pulled out and commanded to lay on the ground prostrate by an unknown angry German soldier, obviously of significant rank.  The German then comes by and shoots the prostrate men one by one in the head until the last one, when he runs out of ammunition.  The gun clicks.  The Jew stays on the ground partially looking up to see what has happened but does not attempt to move.  The German reloads and then shoots him in the head.  The detail is called back to attention and given a left face command, then are marched back to their quarters.

This is not right on multiple levels, but the one I want to focus on is the will to fight.

First, I do not attempt in any way to think that I can understand the mindset of the Warsaw Jews at that point.  They had already been through hell on earth, living in fearful realities that no human should ever have to go through.

I hope I never get to that point where it is okay for me to stand by and watch another human being get shot in the head right in front of me, senselessly.  I hope I never feel so hopeless that I do not attempt to fight back when someone is pointing a gun at my head and I have every opportunity to run, to kick, to scratch, to punch, to bite, to knee to the groin, etc…

But what would the point be, some might ask?  You fight, but you still die.

The answer to that question is multifaceted in that it would really take a book filled with psychological research to backup what I am about to say.

You fight because:

1. It is counter psychology on your captors who wonder why they can’t break your will.

2. It empowers the weak among you to stand up for themselves and for the group as well.

3. It gives hope to those left behind.

4. Having hope can get people to live through extremely trying times.  While anger is a strong motivator, it is irrational, whereas hope tends to be rational.

5. Even if you do not physically fight back, making sure you look the killer in the eye and whispering something like “Thank you”, “I love you”, “I forgive you”, etc… will definitely leave a mark on them to wrestle with down the road.

In general, not doing anything allows the dominate oppressors to believe that they are right, you are a weak, pathetic person, race, ethnicity, sex, religion, or whatever it is they have against you.  Resistance in any form points in the other direction and they have to contend with that philosophically, something that the blind followers tend not to do until faced with something that contradicts what they have been told.

So don’t mess with me, my family, or my free will.  I will fight back in one form or another.  I hope that each person in America feels the same way.  It is what will protect us in the years to come when our Constitutional freedoms come under attack as illogical and irrational, a false way of life that others cannot grasp because they have yet to experience it.  May God grant us the wisdom to stand up for the weak individuals that make up our society and those of other nations in need of an eagle (think about the eagle, a predator, able to see from miles in the air a little rodent in the bush, and then able to hone in and snatch it out of the thicket to take home and feed its little predator babies – that is an awesome analogy if I ever heard one, on both sides/for or against us).

Enjoy,

Keith W.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Don’t mess with me, my family, or my free will

  1. todays date says:

    i love your blog, i have it in my rss reader and always like new things coming up from it.

    • Keith Wadley says:

      I appreciate you reading my posts. Should I make them more frequently or is one a week or so enough?

      Regards,

      Keith

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

