What to do with Christmas?

Christmas has changed.  It isn’t official but the media, society, American culture, etc… have made the transition from a strictly Christian focus to an all inclusive focus.  However, it isn’t just about being tolerant of other religions during the “Christmas season”.  Our culture has taken the imagery and symbolism from a Western Christian holiday and removed the religious aspect from it.  So it has become the season of goodwill towards our neighbors, a season of giving to those in need, a season of spending time with family, etc… It is a kind of “what does the season mean to you” mentality.

Well, I don’t necessarily mind this.  First, I believe Christians should know and recognize the origins of the holidays that we celebrate, in this case Christmas.  If you do not know the history then you cannot guard yourself from falsely holding something sacred that God did not institute for us to observe.  But you can observe it and not be in sin, if you are not lying to yourself while doing it.

Second, the commercialization of Christmas has already competed with and won over Christian homes regarding where our priorities are.  The closest most families come to honoring God coming to earth as a man is when families practice lighting advent candles and reading the passages that go along with each one.  In most non-traditional denomination or non-methodical denominational homes even knowing that there is something called advent candles is news.   My point here is that if the priority for your family at Christmas is not Jesus (you can know this by your bank statement, what you do to celebrate Christmas such as parties, tossing back loaded eggnog, watching A Christmas Story 24/7, etc…) then maybe you should not claim the holiday as a religious holiday at all.  Stick with making Easter your primary Christian holiday.  But beware, this will not bode well in conservative circles where the blinders are still on about the sacredness of Christmas.  The point here is to no longer hold Christmas as a Christian holiday at all.  Let it go ahead and morph into a season of goodwill towards our fellow man.  It is already that anyway as a Western culture, you have to choose to make it something else.  Which brings up point three.

Thirdly, and lastly for time sake, if you want to keep the holiday as a religious time then what are you doing to make it happen? Here are my suggestions.  Do them all, do only one, do none.  But make a decision about whether to keep this holiday as a religious time or a secular time with religious undertones for next year.

1. Watch The Nativity Story

2. Spend time in prayer as a family thanking God for His salvation

3. Go to Walmart and pray about who to help bless by paying for their last minute Christmas shop, then ask them for permission to pay for it and tell them why, “Because I believe the greatest gift we can receive happened over 2000 years ago, and I have been blessed because of the gift and want to pass on the immense love that God has shown me to someone else in a tangible way.”  Write it down so you don’t forget what to say.

4. Purchase or create your own advent wreath and download an advent calendar with scripture annotations.  Use the advent calendar to help you focus on Christmas as the time we remember Jesus’ birth. (there is no proof that he was born on Dec. 25th, see my first reasoning above).

5. Read out of Luke 2 the Christmas story including the prophecies after Jesus’ circumcision.  Use this as a catalyst for praying as a family or for discussing the impact of Jesus’ birth in your own lives.

6. Ask your Christian friends their suggestions.  Get creative.  Pray about this.  Make it a reality and build your own religious traditions.  But keep in mind that it is about your heart and focusing on the “Reason for the Season”.  And I don’t feel cliche about writing that.  Jesus really is the reason for the Holiday Season as we know it culturally.  We just need to get back to focusing on Him.

Merry Christmas,

Daddy Moose

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “What to do with Christmas?

  1. Amanda Jewel says:

    I understand where you are coming from. I felt very shuffled around to make sure we spent time here, or there, or with these people because “It’s Christmas.” The kids focused on the gifts because they are kids, after all. I just wanted to feel happy in my heart and help others but was unable to do so financially because this year I struggled more than I ever have. I felt I was not allowed to spend time with those I would have preferred because I was expected other places. For instance, I am of the opinion no one should be alone at this time of year because it is rubbed in everyone’s faces of how happy they should be to be able to spend time with family. But what about those who are away from family? What about those who are alone & lonely? And here we are neglecting them. No wonder the suicide rate rises during the holidays.

    Everywhere I looked it was “me, me, me” or “Oh, I hope they like what I got them” or “Well, I didn’t buy so and so anything. I hope they aren’t disappointed.” I didn’t witness helping of others. I saw little sharing of love (outside of family circles). The joy of the season seemed to be sucked right out of it due to the hustle & bustle, and spending of money. It made me depressed.

    Now, I know my beliefs differ from yours, dear brother. You know where I stand. However, for me, this time of year is meant to focus on God’s love for us, the blessings God bestows every single day, & to be thankful for our Creator. It should be a time to slow down and recognize how lucky we are and to help those who are less fortunate. It should be a time of prayer & reflection, no matter what religion/spiritual beliefs you have. The animal kingdom seems to show it in their way; why don’t we?

    I just wanted to spread love, light, and laughter this season. To give warmth to those who felt cold and dark. We all came from God; we all carry that light within us. It’s a shame we allow it to be overshadowed by the material things and get so caught up in our own little worlds that we fail to see when someone could use kind words, a smile, or a hug. “All you need is love…Love is all you need.” God is Love. That, I believe, is something we can agree should be a huge focus this time of year…and at all times.

    I love you, Lil Bro.

    • Daddy Moose says:

      The other side of helping others is making sure that you aren’t teaching them that the season is about gifts as well. So if you end up lavishing a family with all kinds of toys and non-practical gifts that they don’t have to have then the message gets lost as well.

      Your take on this time of year is exactly what I am talking about with regards to our society taking a Christian traditional holiday and making it their own. Christians did it to the pagans first, and now it is being done to us. The question we have to answer is whether this is an important holiday to continue celebrating or not, and if it is then it will need to be authentic and owned by the Christian instead of severely influenced by the outside culture.

      I didn’t get depressed. Our kids got loaded with a lot of gifts. I felt super blessed beyond contentment. I think I just desire a more simple life. I like the idea of decluttering and getting down to owning just a few possessions in order to reduce stress, wasted time, etc… Will I get there. No. It has to be a shared vision when you have a family. I am going to purge what I can from my possessions and see what happens from there.

      Love you too.

      Lil’ Bro

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

