The Quitter

The first thing I remember quitting was football at Tupelo High School.  I went through two-a-day training for two grueling weeks.  I ended up in tears in our driveway at one point and told mom that I just wasn’t cut out for it.  The other guys were huge, I was getting tossed around like somebody’s red-headed step-child and I wasn’t learning anything.  So I quit.

Next: I quit Peabody High School’s football team after going through Spring training and doing summer training.  I was going to start on defense as linebacker.  Reason: I went through the Emmaus walk for teens and was wrestling with my anger levels.  I knew that I couldn’t play good football without wanting to seriously hurt the other players.  That bothered me.  I felt like the best way to get that under control was to leave the sport.  I did play tennis and golf my senior year without quitting.  The list grows.

I quite college football, left college for the military.  I quit the military.  After service I had 13 jobs in a matter of 3 years.  That is nuts.  I couldn’t decide what to do and I was trying to finish college during that time.

Now I am quitting the world of public education.  I don’t know when it will happen but I know that I am not renewing my contract for next year.  My goal is to move my family closer to my in-laws.

I have reasons that I think are legitimate for everything that I have quit, but the bottom line is that I tend to not stick with things that I don’t like or enjoy.  Now the question remains, does that make me a quitter, or a risk taker who is seeking more than the misery of life which most Americans seem to settle for?

To me, life is way too short to do something you don’t enjoy, and to take you away from the things that you do (i.e. family!).

What say you, Facebookers and Bloggers?

Daddy Moose

2 thoughts on “The Quitter

  1. Ma K says:

    Keith, I don’t believe you are a quitter. You are one of the hardest working people I have ever met, and do all that you can do with excellence. I do think that your restlessness comes in because you still aren’t doing whatever it is God has called you to do.

    The steps of a righteous man are ordered by God. I just know there is an eternal purpose that only you can fulfill. When you find THAT, whatever it is, you’ll KNOW IT, and stick with it to the end. It’s not just about being happy–that is temporary. It’s about the long term satisfaction that what you are doing has a purpose and is making a difference. I’m not always happy in ministry, but I get a deep satisfaction in knowing that I am in God’s will when I get to minister and see others changed as a result.

    Keep praying. Plug into a church with a strong small group of young adults to keep you encouraged and strengthened. That’s more important than a good Sunday sermon. I think that will help you both to hear clearly what the Lord wants you to do.

    Jeremiah 1:6-10.

    Love and Hugs,
    Ma K

    • Daddy Moose says:

      The problem with small groups is our lack of trust of other parents to take care of our children, or how we see a need to integrate our children into even the small groups. This is counter-culture right now. Other parents want a break. That is why you have a spouse – to give each other a break. There are all kinds of ways to manage the small group with the kids being there – even little breast-feeding babies and grumpy toddlers. They need to see us praising God, crying out, interceding, and studying together. I do agree with you about needing one though.

      I am in agreement to regarding my discontent, however, God has not revealed that next step to me and I am not sure that I am on the path that leads that direction. This may be a Moses incident where I am in training for forty years before being called into service. I KNOW I have a ton to learn still and my faith is nowhere near solid enough to be used in some sort of leadership capacity…unless God says so. I am not opposed, just a big lump of clay waiting to be shaped into something productive. My trouble is that I keep thinking that I am the Potter.

      Thanks for posting.

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

