A Wise Saying

“A joyful heart is good medicine, but a broken spirit dries up the bones.”

Are your bones dried up?  Do you find people avoid you when you go to social places?  Or maybe you noticed how people smile when they see you coming, or that calls to get together with you never seem to end.

This is a choice.  Like many things in life having a joyful heart is a matter of habit.  I am more of a dried bones kind of guy to most people, if not all.  I can be a medicine man at times, but let’s be real.  If you know me you know that I tend to be a pessimist and look at things as though the glass is half-emtpy.

I want my bones to be covered with flesh and no longer dry.  I want to have a joyful heart, maybe a Marry Poppins or Baloo the Bear personality.  I want to be that guy that people look to when their down and when they want to enjoy life.

What does that look like?

First, no swearing, even if I stub my toe or a dish drops and breaks and wakes the baby.  Swearing during stuff like this is just showing that I don’t have the right perspective on life.  Things happen that I cannot control, and sometimes things go wrong when they are in my control (a facade).  That doesn’t mean I should say, “Praise, Jesus!” when I lay the hammer down on my finger, but it does mean that I should be grateful that I didn’t hit the same finger twice (hopefully!).

Second, I have stop getting mad in traffic and when red lights stop me from moving forward to my destination.  This means a couple of things.  I need to leave for appointments in a timely fashion.  Somewhere between leaving the military and having one of my many jobs I decided that on-time meant the actual time to five minutes late.  What is that about?  I think it is self-centeredness and not caring about those who are waiting for me enough to show them some respect.  Granted, this is an American concept.  I have seen other cultures where 8:00 p.m. could turn into 10:00 p.m. and the person is still on time.

Third, sometimes I just need to realize that everything that I want to do in a day cannot be done.  My priorities are messed up most of the time.   My focus is not where I think it needs to be.  I obviously have a different set of values than what I profess so maybe some good internal evaluation is needed to see what I truly believe is important is needed in order to set things straight again (as if they were ever in the right order).

Well, that is all for now.  Be a joyful hearted person so that you are good medicine and not somebody who is drying up bones, especially your own.

Daddy Moose

Leave a Reply

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

dreamwalker1960

Thoughts out of the blue

