Life: What do you want out of it?

I’ve been thinking a lot here lately. Being out of the daily grind of the classroom as a teacher will give you time to do this more so than others. Add to that the reality that all of us will at some point breath one last time here on this earth; and you get a heavy dose of philosophy, theology, and a desire for purpose laid on your mind to deal with.

I can’t answer the title question just yet. I am not really sure. Just when I think I want one thing: financial security and safety for my family, then another pops up: living in a third-world disease ridden country for the purpose of ministering to the needs of others in the hope that I will be seen as God’s hands and feet so they will believe what I desire to tell them (why does it have to be someplace outside of America?).

There is a lot more mixed into all of this, but that is basically what it boils down to that I am struggling through at the moment. The trouble is, it is too stuck on looking into the future. I need to look at here and now because I am not guaranteed tomorrow. This guy named James once wrote about this mindset from a business perspective. He was like, “dude, why do you think you can just go some place, setup shop, make a butt load of money, and it will come to pass before you taste the sting of death?” That is paraphrased of course and it says to me that I need to chill with putting so much stock in myself. The second part to what he says amplifies the heart of the matter.
“Instead, you should say, ‘If the Lord wills, we will live and do this or that.'”

Yeah, that is all well and good, Brother James, but the Lord might will some things that I think are not from God at all, but from the very pit of depraved humanity or even hell itself. What’s up with your Lord’s will then?

I just heard thunder and I feel like I am in danger of being struck by lightening.  Suffice it to say this, “work out your own salvation with fear and trembling.” I can’t wrestle with your issues anymore than you can with mine. But I will be here to listen, talk through, reason, and spiritualize the search for Truth. And you better be there for me.

Tagged , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Life: What do you want out of it?

  1. JewelFern says:

    It’s hard to know what life will bring and why. And do we believe that everything is God’s will or are some things left to chance? Not sure I believe in fate. I think we’re given choices. Sometimes you have to make your own destiny. Make your own decisions to where you’ll end up. You just hope you do right by yourself and everyone involved. Sometimes s*** just happens. Not sure if God has anything to do with it. That’s just the way it is. Can’t believe that he’d have a hand in some of the messed up things that go on; like losing two cousins (siblings) within the same family within 8 years. That’s just screwed up. God’s will? I think not. I just say a little prayer to get me through life…it helps me remember. You know the Serenity prayer: “Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things that I can, & the wisdom to know the difference.” This prayer makes me think that I don’t control everything, but God doesn’t either…sometimes life happens & you just pray maybe not to understand, but to be able to accept it, cause you can’t change it. It’s scary though…how do you know which prayers God will answer & which ones he won’t? Like today, my child is going to Florida for a field trip with his caregivers…I pray for his safety, but what’s to guarantee that God will hear me & answer my prayer? I have so many questions…about prayer, about life, about death, about God…I hope one day I’ll have those answers…maybe in time, when it’s my time to go, I will. Maybe that’s when we all will know. Then again, with all this being said, only God knows for sure how it all works…maybe it’s too much for us to understand…too big…too complicated. That’s why he’s all knowing and we’re not.

    All that being said, live your life to the best of your abilities and know that you have a choice…to live everyday like it’s your last or to wait around to see where life takes you. It’s hard to live like you’re dying, but we can’t be scared to make decisions that will take us to great places. Meaning, I think we’re here on earth to learn as much as we can about ourselves and each other and the world around us. When we stop and become absorbed into our own little worlds, we are missing out on our purpose. It’s not easy to do…it’s so easy to just say “I’m going to take care of me and mine” but we must remember that we’re all a part of each other because we are all a part of God. So make decisions that will lead you to do what we’re sent here to do. That’s the point.

    Love you,
    Sissy

    • Daddy Moose says:

      Several things based on your comment.

      First, I have been trained, taught, discipled, whatever you want to call it that we CAN know the will of God. I am not sure where I stand on the issue. I believe we can know the precepts of God and the character of God. If we can know that then we can know what God would prefer us to do for our own life. In essence that is God’s will.

      Second, we can know God’s will but not God’s purpose. Does God will that murder, rape, incest, molestation, gossip, slander, lawyers, politicians, and shop-lifting would go away to never return? I lean towards yes. Then the question becomes, why doesn’t He make them go away? The answer seems to be that God’s timeline moves at a different pace than ours. We believe utopia should exist here and now. Flash news: it isn’t going to happen…ever. I do not know God’s purpose for allowing these things to continue, but, like you said, our job is just to accept things as they are when they are out of our control and move forward as best as possible.

      Lastly, I have been reading C.S. Lewis’ theological novel called, The Great Divorce. It has a very interesting way of viewing the here-and-now as well as life-after-death. I highly recommend reading it when you get time. It is fairly easy to follow but it takes a few pages before your interest are really peaked and the meat of the situation develops. I do not know how “Christian” his theology is, but it sure does make a lot of sense the way he writes about it.

      Thanks for reading and posting. I hope you get to visit the Arkansas family at least next year. I do not know if we will go every year but at least every two or three years.

      Love you too,

      Lil’ Bro

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

