Legacy

There is only one thing that out lives us once we die. Our legacy. What will your mark be on the people you leave behind?

Can money out live you? Yes. But your legacy will go with the money. “Yeah, thanks to great-grandpa Bill we are setup for the kids college funds. But I wish he had earned it honestly instead of being so mean and hurtful to people along the way. He just wouldn’t help others to save his own life.”

When it could be, “Kids, come sit by the fire while I tell you another story about great grand-pa Bill.” The money is never mentioned, only his character and the kids all know where the money came from as they grow up. They don’t want the money, they want the legacy to continue.

I told my students this past week that the world is going to lie to them when they leave high school.  College and life influences will tell them that their career and finances are the most important things for them to invest their time in.  Yet you do not build your legacy with your career.  AND, over 95% of my students said that their family and friends were the most important and fun aspects of their lives.  If they already know this then why do they get messed over as life goes on?

I have several answers to that but I will not preach on them.  I will state them though:

1. They are searching for something to fill up the emptiness they feel in their heart/soul

2. They believe money will solve their problems, make them happy, stop the “bleeding”, save their marriage, make the kids happy, give them peace, give them contentment….

3. Consumerism is not just a philosophy, it is American culture.  It has already started working its way into their lives (i.e. one student I have gets $20 a weekend to do whatever and for not doing anything in return, plus she gets a $500 clothing allowance each year, again, without doing any work).

Those are my top three reasons.  Feel free to add more.
It is time for me to spend some time with my wife.  The baby is down and we rented a movie for FREE.

Daddy Moose

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Legacy

  1. Ma K says:

    This makes me think of something I’ve read “True Honor is not how you die, it’s how you live…” I agree with you 100%. Our legacy is not about money or fame or material things that we’ll be remembered by. It’s about how we lived our lives, our character, our love, and manifesting that love in tangible ways by loving and serving others. If I don’t live my life for Christ in such a way that others SEE it, then they will not hear the words that come out of my mouth.

  2. Daddy Moose says:

    There is a neat little book called, “When you are a Christian the whole world is from Missouri.” The premise is that Missouri is known as the “show me” state. That is how the world sees Christians today. It is like James said, show me your faith without works and I will show you my faith by my works.

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

