Too much to think about and not enough time

Wow, there is so much happening in my mind at the moment. I am reading a book called, “The Jewish Guide to Understanding the New Testament” or something like that. It is totally presenting some interesting perspectives and research that I would never have found within Christian circles. It is a thought provoking and honest look at the New Testament from a different perspective. I have not read anything life altering yet, but I am very much enjoying the reading.

I recently read a blog that was written over two years ago by an atheist that describe in detail why she is angry. One of the most profound things that she wrote which hit me was that anger has been used by almost every social/political movement in the past two-hundred years in America to bring about change. Think about it: freedom from Britain, abolition of slavery, women’s suffrage, civil rights, the religious right of the 80’s, the MacArthur Trials, Operation Enduring Freedom and more. They all were moved by people who were angry with the status quo and decided to do something about it. I am not talking about illogical anger. I am talking about moral anger. Anger that some would call holy or righteous anger. It kind of falls along the lines of Just War Theory but in this case it can be negative as well.  Think about World War II with Adolf Hitler.  The Germans were angry with the world and look at what happened.  What about Stalin, Saddam Hussein, suicide bombers, Columbine, the Oklahoma City bombing, and others?

There comes a time in certain situations that anger is what is needed to get the dog off the porch and moving into action. A question I have to ask myself is: what makes me angry these days? Does it really matter if someone is riding too close to my bumper? When my administration creates some new task or paperwork trail that I have to do should that really make me angry? What about child slavery that is still very much alive and active? I don’t get angry about that, unless you start talking about threatening my child’s safety. Why is it that things have to be personal with men before we get angry? It just does not make sense. Where is our sense of justice? Where is our sense of duty and call to honor and decency?

It is gone. I am so self-consumed that it is hard to imagine someone’s suffering. That is why the martyr’s in China for Christianity do not bother me. I cannot relate and I am not directly affected by it. That is why child kidnapping and slavery is not on the top of my list for things to take action against. It is not staring me in the face or threatening my family (as far as I can see).

We need to take a good hard look at our lives to see where we need to get involved. When we care more about a dog’s well being who has been left out in the cold over a person who is hanging out under the bridge then something is wrong. That is me. I am wrong. How do you fix it?

If you figure it out then please let me know.  How do you get angry about the right things?  How do you stir anger?

Living comfortably while others aren’t,

Daddy Moose

Leave a Reply

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

dreamwalker1960

Thoughts out of the blue

