Prospero Año Nuevo

I hope you like the title.  I am not going to tell you how I got the little wave symbol above the “n” unless you ask.  It is very simple to do though.

Okay, so what is up with Boris this year.  Two things: oneWord and Ephesian 4:29.

Go to this site and check out the link at the bottom called oneWord.  Read it and do it if you feel so inclined.  My word for the year is commitment.  I am looking forward to seeing how that plays out.  Commitment to my faith(if you love me you will obey what I command), commitment to my family(second priority in life next to God), to my church(I am tired of being a spectator), to my school(both at work and in graduate school), etc…  I want to be known as someone who is loyal and as someone who will still be around when times get tough.  That builds trust and integrity in relationships and relationships are what God cares about the most.  Otherwise why even send Jesus, right?

Second, Ephesians 4:29 out of the Holman Christian Standard Bible reads:

“No rotten talk should come from your mouth, but only what is good for the building up of someone in need, in order to give grace to those who hear.”

Couple this with Ephesians 5:4 “And coarse and foolish talking or crude joking are not suitable, but rather giving thanks” and the realization of my words not meeting Christian standards sets in.  Doesn’t it make sense though?  Shouldn’t someone who has a belief in experiencing eternal life in a good way be someone that is a joy to be around?  Shouldn’t that person be an encourager, motivator, good communicator, and a positive realist?

My wife and I are looking at adopting the Ephesians 4:29 verse for our marriage.  If we can start at home to live it out then it should affect other aspects of our lives as well.  How cool would that be?!

Gotta go.  Limited time and lots to do.

Blessings for the New Year!

Boris

2 thoughts on “Prospero Año Nuevo

  1. Steve says:

    Hi Keith,
    the link’s not there. Eph 4:29 is a great verse to remember and live by. Glad to see you today at church! I hope to get time with you when you get a chance.

    Bro Steve provs 27:17

  2. Steve says:

    Hi Keith,
    the link is there… it appeared after I hit the “submit” button.

    Bro, that’s awesome that you desire to be committed to God, your family, and your local church. I would encourage you to start small, one thing at a time, or one practical thing at a time. I am with you–in a similar boat. I realize that I have taken and withdrawn from my marriage’s love bank. This year I want to focus on depositing into my marriage and building trust and communication between my wife and kids. The first step is that I have to be there.

    I also want to read the Bible in a year with the church reading plan. That will be fun.

    I need to lose some weight. I weigh 210lbs right now. I need to cut down a waist size or two– have some self-control when it comes to eating. Not over eating when I get stressed. I’m going to take it week by week and try not to eat anything past dinner time.

    I think the verse for us will be Phillipians 4:13 ” I can do all things through Christ who gives me strength”.

    Blessings,
    Bro Steve provs 27:17

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

