Holy Sighing

What in the world is a “holy sigh”?

Do any of you remember a movie called Waiting to Exhale that had Whitney Houston in it?  In that movie the women were in all kinds of drama and at some point one of them talks about just “waiting to exhale” when all the drama dies down.  That is close to what I am talking about with a holy sigh.

When my life is going 90-to-nothing and I have been too busy for God I find myself stressed out and needing something.  Well, if I go to God in prayer I usually end up sighing.  Not just sighing, but this deep, lung dispensing sigh that just seems to relax me to the soul and allows me to expose myself to my Maker.  It is a great feeling.  It is the weight of the world being absorbed by God and allowing me to realize that I am not in control.  I love holy sighs.

Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.  Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”   Matthew 11:28-30

Does anybody else experience holy sighing?

Daddy Moose

One thought on “Holy Sighing

  1. Ma K says:

    I haven’t seen that particular movie, but I love the entire concept of what you are getting at–the total and complete release of everything we are holding onto and stressing over and worrying about. It makes me think about the scripture that says to cast all of our cares on Him, because He cares for us. Total release and total peace just don’t come until we give it all to Him, and let Him carry those things that trouble us. Bless you, Keith. I know you have so much on you right now, and as always I am praying for you!

    Love and Hugs,
    Ma Kim

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

