Not again!

Well, for those who know me and my track record since leaving the Air Force four years ago this will come as no surprise.  I am changing jobs again.
However, this is a career move and something that I believe will match my life purpose statement as well as the desires I have for my family.  The position: West Creek High School Business Education Teacher, grades 9-12.  I am actually going to teach Computer Training Education classes: Multi-media (11 and 12) and Computer Applications (9 and 10).

My purpose is to passionately motivate and innovatively help others to be less selfish and to use their resources – talents, skills, abilities, desires, and money – to make the world a better place to live.

I desire more family time and the ability to try new things without risking my family’s well-being in the process.  Teaching will definitely free up my summers to do that and winter break should be amazing.

With this new adventure I am launching a second blog site that will be strictly about my experiences with teaching this first year.  I don’t know if I will do it for two years but I want to chronicle/journal the first year for sure.  The blog is called My First Year as  High School Teacher. Check it out for the latest in the process and to see what events have happened, especially once school starts August 7th.  I will be updating it more frequently than Illusions of Boris.

Cumberland University is where I will be working on a Master of Arts in Education from over the next two years.  I am not sure what the plan is after that to an extent.  This first year will definitely determine what the next steps are as far as moving to a different grade level (I really wanted to teach elementary kids in grades 3 through 5) or coaching is concerned.  I would not mind giving a shot at assistant coaching for baseball or football.  That is long term though.  Right now I need to make it through this week.

If you are interested in creating your own life purpose statement then email me and I will send you the information to go through.  It is fairly quick but it cuts straight to the point.  I might post next week on that anyway.

Love to all.  Thanks for reading.

Daddy Moose

5 thoughts on “Not again!

  1. Melissa and Jeremy says:

    Congrats on the new job! We have no doubt that you will be an excellent teacher. We are looking forward to the new blog on your first year of teaching.

    • Daddy Moose says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. I am doing okay at the moment. The in-service that I attended today is helping me to get started preparing. I also got to arrange the desk in my room and take a look at some of the equipment. I have about seven sets of keys between the two classrooms, the office, five filing cabinets, and two different desk keys. It is crazy! No course material yet. All in due time.

      I can’t wait to start posting my experiences. Thanks for posting.

      Keith

  2. Granny says:

    Congratulations, grandson. You will be a terrific teacher, and just beginning can sometimes be overwhelming. It’s relatively simple getting ready, but then the students arrive, and somehow it is a little more challenging. I, as well, have gone to a new school, and I believe it will be a great year. Each day will be different. Praying for you as you begin this exciting time in your life. Pappy and I are so very proud of you.
    Much love and prayers, Granny and Pappy

  3. Ma K says:

    Hey Keith,

    I am so glad you are starting a new job and new adventure in your life. By your example with all of the grandkids, I think you will be a wonderful teacher. I’m sure it will be challenging as God
    s-t-r-e-t-c-h-e-s you in your new career, but you will be on the fast learning curve and will get the hang of it quickly.

    We love you and are praying for you!!!

    Love and Hugs,
    Ma K

  4. Extenze says:

    Of course, what a great site and informative posts, I will add backlink – bookmark this site? Regards, Reader.

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

