Happy Birthday, Sissy!

Well, since I failed to get a birthday card in the mail in time I decided to honor my sister with a blog post for her birthday.

Things I learned from my sister:

1.  When you are in a fist fight it is very important to listen to what the other person is saying, otherwise you might mishear them.  Case-in-point, my sister and I were slugging it out in the bathroom in Plantersville, MS one morning and I thought I heard her say, “Stop it!  You hurt my baby!”.  I immediately stopped and she ran off to her room and slammed the door.  I was dumbfounded and began to totally loose it at the thought that I had just killed my sister’s baby that she was pregnant with that nobody knew about.  I went to her door and knocked, maybe even in tears, and told her I was sorry.  She couldn’t understand why I had the change of heart and I told her that I was sorry that I had killed her baby.  She started laughing (which was really odd to me, after all, this was serious).  She said, “I said ‘you hurt my BACK'”.  We laughed and made up.

2.  Don’t do what I do, do what I say.  This actually worked with me.  She went down a tough road with chemical dependency and told me not to follow or she would kick my butt.  I listened.  Thanks, Sis.

3.  It is possible to know the word to every single song that came out in the 80’s.  I am not sure that this is a lesson to be learned.  I guess you could classify it as a capability of the human brain to retain such needless information just by hearing the first few notes to a song.  It is amazing to see it in action.  I will never again doubt the ability of people to memorize anything.

4.  Even if you make bad choices, you always have other choices coming up that can propel you into positive situations.  My sister has never been one to dwell on the past (to an extent).  As long as I have known her she has always kept pushing forward, choosing to see what people were capable of becoming and not so much what they were at the time.  She has sacrificed her own desires to help others, often without that kind of sacrifice in return.  But she doesn’t stop. She keeps going.  So hear me, Sis, don’t stop and look behind you.  Keep looking to the future and what can be.  If you don’t like what the future looks like then make the tough choices that you are known for.  I believe in you.

5.  Families don’t always believe the same things and it is okay to talk about those differences without someone getting offended.  Enough said.  Thanks for being open and honest.

6.  Even though you get old…er, you can still accomplish great things.  Way to go on finally completing your Bachelor’s degree!  Mom too for that matter.  Now use the knowledge that you gained to achieve your goals of becoming a writer!!!  What are you waiting for, an Easy Button?

7.  Even if you are not “gifted” with those maternal instincts, you can still be a great mom.  He isn’t perfect but he sure has a lot of personality thanks to you letting him be so creative.  Keep up the good work.

8.  Animals are more valuable than vehicles.  Ask the old Nissan pickup that saw its front radiator smashed thanks to my sister avoiding a little bunny rabit in the road.  I bet she crushed the entrance to the little bunny’s home burrowed in the hillside that is was trying to get to and trapped in the rest of its family that he had to dig out by himself once she left the scene of the accident with the vehicle.  Ha!

9.  What is fake to some people is real to others.  I killed  your imaginary butterfly and sat on your imaginary boyfriend!  And you cried about it…lol.

10.  No matter what happens in life, my sister will always love me for who I am, even if she doesn’t agree with me on everything.  Thanks, Sisssy, for being one of my best friends.

Lots of love to you on your 32 birthday!!!

Daddy Moose, a.k.a. Lil’ Bro

8 thoughts on “Happy Birthday, Sissy!

  1. Sissy says:

    You are the best brother in the world!! Thanks for such a sweet blog and hilarious at that! It’s been quite an adventure growing up together and I couldn’t have picked a better brother! Thanks for all that you are and all that you do!

    Love you Bro,
    Sissy

    • Daddy Moose says:

      Do you remember being in West Texas when Papa was dying and I was sitting out on the front porch late one evening? You came outside and we talked for a bit. That was a turning point in our relationship. I don’t remember what we talked about but I think we rehashed some of the things that had been happening between us and with you and I told you why I had done/said some of what I had. We just kept growing closer after that. I remember how dry, cool, and windy it was that night. It was amazing West Texas weather.

  2. Sissy says:

    Oh, by the way, it was a dog in the road…not a bunny. A big dog enjoying the warmth of the road…stupid thing. And yes, to me even dumb animals are more valuable than vehicles…I still swerve for butterflies and squirrels….OH! do you remember me accidentally hitting that oppossum in the middle of the road one night and coming home and crying about it…you and Dad laughed at me, but I can still see his little eyes……

    Love,
    Sis

    • Daddy Moose says:

      Dog, rabbit, possum, whatever. Human life verses animal life. I don’t remember laughing at you, sort of. I remember the situation but I am not sure if I was so cold as to laugh at you while you were crying…to your face at least!

      That is so funny, “I can still see his little eyes”.

      Lil’ Bro

  3. Ma K says:

    Hilarious memories! What a sweet tribute to your sister!

    • Daddy Moose says:

      That is what happens when you wait until the last minute to try and send a birthday card, you have to come up with something else. In this case I happened to have a blog site that saved me.

      Thanks for the clothes!

      Keith

  4. nana says:

    This was the laugh I needed this morning. Now I know why I love both of you so much.

    I don’t know how many of Amanda’s ‘butterfly’s you have killed but one of them was while I was driving at a high rate of speed on I30. (Must have been in a hurry to return you both to your rightful owners.!)

    Love,
    Nana

    • Daddy Moose says:

      Hey Nana,

      Yes, that is the same butterfly. I think that was the same year I sat on her imaginary boyfriend too.

      I hope you are feeling a lot better.

      Love and hugs,

      Keith

Leave a Reply

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

dreamwalker1960

Thoughts out of the blue

