Choosing to Fully Live

“Everyman dies, not every man really lives.”  William Wallace (Mel Gibson) in the movie Braveheart (1995).

The Apostle Paul wrote to the church in Philippi about what he believed to be the importance of living this life in light of the fact that our decisions in the past show who we are but shouldn’t define who we are yet to become.  He said to do this by “forgetting what is behind and reaching forward to what is ahead, I pursue as my goal the prize promised by God’s heavenly call in Christ Jesus.”  (Phil 3:13b-14)

As a Christian I have to ask myself if I am living in my past or if I am letting God mold me into the man He desires me to be by allowing His forgiveness to propel me beyond my mistakes and errors in judgment.  Do I cling to the past and allow it to tell me who I am or do I look towards the God who gives me the faith that I have and who has made me into a new creation for His purpose and for His glory?  Am I truly living the full life or am I just existing and allowing the world around me to shape me without my consent?

I hope that when I die people will think of me as my own man, as someone who made a difference in this world for the better because of my faith and belief in Jesus Christ.  I want them to be motivated to live life with purpose and with a sense of expectancy that God desires for them to walk in the kingdom of God here and now as His witnesses and instruments of righteousness.  How awesome is that?!  We are God’s creation, created for good works.  We have been blessed with life.  Hopefully at the end of my days I will not have wasted it on things that are not of eternal value.
Keith

5 thoughts on “Choosing to Fully Live

  1. Sissy says:

    I have always felt when I talk to you that you bring that aspect of God to the table that I sometimes forget. You constantly remind me of his wisdom, grace, and love. Thank you for that.

    Lucky to have you as a brother,
    Big Sis

    • Daddy Moose says:

      I still beat myself up because I keep doing, thinking, saying things that I know are not from God. I hate it. I hate the thoughts, the temptations that come up but I love the thrill, the joy, the peace when I do get it right and do the things that God delights in. This world is not my home. The more I remember that the less I am inclined to act like it is (common sense but not common application).

      You are not lucky to have me as a brother. You had no choice. God knew what the plan was from the beginning. Remove the thought of luck from your vocabulary (you don’t really believe in it anyway, Mrs. Karma-thanks to you mom and dad have latched onto the philosophy as well). Everything happens for a reason and luck has nothing to do with it. I will leave the luck to the Leprechauns.

      Love you bunches,

      Lil’ Bro

      • Sissy says:

        There is something to be said for treating others fairly and doing the right thing. I do believe it all comes back around…if you send out negative energy, you bring it back to you. If you send out positive energy, then positive things happen. So yes, I guess I do believe in a sort of Karma…I didn’t realize I’d converted my parents…that’s kind of cool! HA!

        Then I guess I should say, “I am BLESSED to have you as a brother.” That’s more like it.

        Love you,
        Sis

  2. Granny says:

    Granny has a lot to say, as you’ll see in your e-mail. You and Heather are so focused on God and His will. Just remember, no one is perfect. That’s the part we have to remember, but keep pressing on toward the mark, and try to serve Him in all we think, say, and do. It’s when we don’t recognize our shortcomings that we have to watch.
    Love you 3 so much, Granny

    • Daddy Moose says:

      Thanks for the private email as well as posting, Granny.

      “No one is perfect” definitely defines how Heather and I view ourselves. She is more humble than I am. I find myself being the judge of everyone in the world. It probably stems from the high standard that I set for myself that I will never get to. But I have to keep pushing towards it, otherwise I think I would go crazy and do some really stupid things worse than I already do. A friend of mine told me about a year or so ago that I was really judgmental when it came to my view of others. I always saw my opinion as the right way and whatever decisions they made I would condemn or chastise. It didn’t really hit me until he showed me that. I still struggle with it but I try to rethink things when I find myself lambasting someone in my mind. I fail to catch myself a lot of times. I am not sure what to make of it, nor how to “fix” it. Hopefully I can give people the same grace that I am given.

      Love you,

      Keith

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

