Personal Economics: Responsibility

Well, while most other people enjoyed their 4th of July weekend in whatever way seemed fit to them, I was feeling rather miserable with the worst summer cold that I have ever had, courtesy of my wife and kid.  We originally thought that I brought the cold home but Heather got sick first and then the baby.  I followed shortly thereafter as those two were in full recovery mode.  I had two days of work and then on my day off I ended up finishing a project for a friend of ours whose husband is deployed.  I thought I was going to die (not really but I did feel really miserable).  The rest of the weekend we have done nothing but lay around the house, clean-up a little bit, and grocery shop.

I still have a sore throat but it is 100 times better than it has been and I am looking forward to a solid nights sleep for a change.  Heather still has some drainage as well so I guess we are both going to keep drinking whatever fluids we can get our hands on until this “thing” passes.

Back to work tomorrow, to include mowing on the side a couple of times this week.  I keep reading about the economy and how it stinks, and how people can’t pay their bills, and people can’t find a job, and blah, blah, blah.  I don’t know what I believe about it all.  There is always someplace to work, even if you don’t want to be there (i.e. fast food restaurants, mowing lawns, call center operations, pizza delivery, etc…).  The other kicker that I don’t get is how folks don’t know how to live within their means.  I mean sheesh people, have we really been brain-washed or what?!  If you cannot pay cash for it, don’t buy it!  That simple.  “Well, you don’t know what it is like to have the only car you own breakdown and need $2,000 in repairs that you don’t have because the baby was sick with pneumonia and the doctor’s bill took the last of the savings, and our food pantry only has anchovies in it from last year….”  Have you really ever met someone who says these things?  I have not.  The people that I talk to who are down financially typically have brought it on themselves (that stings a little doesn’t it?).  Losing the job doesn’t create the predicament someone finds themselves in.  Not correctly managing the funds they were bringing in before put them in that situation.

Hypothetical example using my own life:

Let’s say that I have a non-work related accident right now that lands me in the hospital only to find out that I am no longer able to use my hands for some reason.  What would Heather and I do?  First off, I don’t have medical insurance outside of the Veteran’s Administration so if they don’t cover the medical bills then I would now be in debt probably around $35K.  Secondly, we only have about 1 month of living expenses saved up so the month that I am in the hospital has already wiped that out.  Now what?  Well, we sell the house, sell my beater truck, sell as many possessions as we can get rid of and still live, start looking at what family members would help us out on the front end as we piece things back together.  For “woe is me effect” let’s say we have no friends and family to fall back on.  Then we end up in default on our mortgage so the house is gone and now we are possibly looking at filing for personal bankruptcy.  We have had to sell almost everything so there is not much left outside of our mini-van and a couple of suitcases.  The baby still has insurance through the government but Heather and I are uninsured.  Whose responsibility are we?  The Federal Government?  The State of TN? Our neighbor’s?  The church’s?  What about the non-profit folks?

I contend that we are nobody’s responsibility.  First off, my failure to have insurance that would cover such a situation is what put us in this predicament in the first place.  As a matter of fact, now that I have written this scenario one of the first things I am going to do this week is to find a way in our budget to get me major medical private insurance as well as short-term disability insurance.  I might have to work another job or two each month in order to make the money to get it but it is what has to be done.  It is my responsibility.

What do you guys think?  Isn’t the state of the economy really our own fault for how we have allowed consumerism economics to run our lives?  The economy needs a rest and so do our pocket books.  Me included.  I would have rather seen a second Great Depression before seeing the direction that our government is headed with trying to keep a broken free-enterprise system floating.

Daddy Moose

3 thoughts on “Personal Economics: Responsibility

  1. Ma K says:

    Just quick thoughts on my way to bed… I’m glad all of you are finally on the upswing feeling better after being so sick! I do agree we can’t look to the government to bail us out on everything, and that we all do have a personal responsibility in our lives and our finances.

    With the way our government is going, sadly, we may all yet go through that second great depression you mentioned. I heard on Bill O’Reilly tonight that another grand scheme is under way to spend even more money on yet another stimulus package, after the first one fell way short of all that was promised regarding the economy. In my generation we call that throwing good money after bad.

    I do think that the time will come when we need to return to the church in Acts to share all that we have, and to help meet each other’s needs. That’s part of what it means to have a church family, and to be part of the body of Christ. Let’s hope we also return to the faith and passion and power of the early church in preaching the gospel, healing the sick, and raising the dead!!!

    Much Love,
    Ma K

    • Granny says:

      I was once told that if the “church” would do as it was intended, there would be no need for gov. help. Then, the person said that there’s no way the church could do now what the gov. has started. Medicare and social security were started with good purpose, but as years have gone buy, the gov. has gone overboard, and it doesn’t appear they’ll slack off.
      I totally agree that most Americans have not had to do without as you said, but have brought a lot of this on ourselves.I believe we do have to go back to the basics, not buying “things” just because we want them. You and Heather are prime examples of what young couples should be, putting God and His will above all. True happiness isn’t in things, and husbands like you yourself work very long, hard hours to provide the necessities. God will richly reward you, and I believe you can say, He already has. I am truly blessed and uplifted each time I read about your family, and wish every father and mother would live their lives for Him as you do.
      Have a blessed day,
      Love and prayers, Granny

  2. Sissy says:

    Hey kiddo,

    Glad you’re feeling better.

    Not sure what to think of the economy. I’m honestly not hurting due to the fact my hubs works for Uncle Sam. We’re pretty much taken care of and it’s good (as long as he doesn’t deploy again; knock on wood.) And the military towns we live in don’t seem to be as affected due to the fact that military people live there…they have money to spend. But I think it is about living within your means. Why has it been so important for us to “keep up with the Joneses” so to speak? It’s all about coveting what your neighbor has and feeling you need what they have too or you won’t be happy. And then when you have it, you still aren’t happy ’cause someone else has something better. I think people get caught up in showing up the other person, maybe. It’s ridiculous really. And we’ve gotten away from what we really NEED vs. what we WANT. Many people feel like they just can’t live without the next big/better thing. It’s silly. Maybe we all need to become a little more introspective and re-evaluate what’s important. Maybe we need to quit being so superficial and materialistic. Have you seen that All State commercial? He talks about things like how we’re learning that it’s not the size of our tv that’s important but who’s around it that is. Things like that. It’s time we get back to basics.

    But what about those people who are in dire straits? Do we just let them suffer and say “I told you so”? Or do we lend a helping hand? Maybe that’s what the gov’t/our president is trying to do but on a grander scale. What ‘s the difference in me helping an individual and the gov’t helping it’s people? Hmmm….it gets expensive for sure but isn’t it the right thing to do? I don’t know; I’m torn on the issue. You can’t keep bailing people out, I guess. It’s like a teenager on drugs with the parents enabling the kid to keep making the same mistakes. At some point you gotta let that kid hit bottom and pray that it comes back around to where it needs to be…without getting itself killed. The gov’t is that enabling parent and it’s people are struggling not to hit bottom but it maybe what’s best if people are going to realize they just can’t keep living the way they do. But oh, at what price? Scary stuff at any rate.

    Thanks for posting.
    Love ya,
    Sissy

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

