My Bubble

It is all about me, right?  It is amazing at how ego-centric I can be at times.  I know that I am part of a larger world but all I can typically focus on is me and my problems (that often aren’t real problems, I am just not handling them well…somebody moved my cheese!). In this short paragraph alone the word “I” was used five times!

I was totally blown away this weekend by my wife throwing me a surprise birthday party.  Somehow she got almost all of our local friends to show up.  It was great!  We had karaoke, a pinata, grilled burgers and hot dogs, pineapple-upside-down cake, white cake with strawberry frosting, a gelatin thing with whip cream on top, a “sand” box that was supposed to be the beginnings of a patio that I had not completed yet (the kids figured it was there for them), and a luau theme.  Stuff was everywhere.  I loved it.  I didn’t care for being surprised since I like to have everything in order outside before folks come to enjoy the lawn, but in the end it doesn’t matter and I had a blast.

If it did anything it helped me to realize the importance of relationships again.  I learned that my closest friends think like I do but they don’t necessarily dress like I do or do the things that I would do (such as karaoke loud enough to where the neighbors could have called the cops for noise pollution).  I don’t know if I like all of my closest friends thinking like me.  I need to step out of my protective bubble and get a diversity of friends.  Why though?  I don’t know.  It just seems like the right thing to do in this pluralistic society we live in so that I can get all sides of Pandora’s box before drawing my line in the sand.  Still, I love the friends that I have.  They make me laugh and they are loyal.  You can’t ask for a better friend than one who is loyal to the relationship.  I am not always there for them like they are for me.  Shame on me for that and I am slowly beginning to see how I use people and only help them when it is convenient for me and not necessarily in their best interest.  I definitely have some selfish tendencies that need to succumb to humility, kindness, and goodness sometime soon.

I really need to go to bed.  Thanks for all who participated in the prayer blog last week.  Feel free to comment more on it.  I will probably do a follow-up post to it in the next week or two so be looking for that (I might email it out).

Love to all,

Keith

4 thoughts on “My Bubble

  1. Sissy says:

    Hey Kiddo,

    I hate I missed the party, but I’m glad you had a good time. What a wonderful wife you have! That was so sweet of her!

    I think we all get caught up in “the world revolves around me” mentality every now and again. It’s normal though; after all, we view things from our own perspective most of the time. There’s a line from a song that goes: “Why’s it so hard to be conscious and so easy to get stuck, and not the other way around?” In other words, why’s it so hard to be aware? Aware in the “there’s a greater purpose than myself” sense of the word. It is so much easier to get lost within oneself and the goings on in our immediate lives. That’s human nature. The best way to go outside of that is to tap into your spirituality and realize the connectedness of us all. For example: Right now I’ve become obsessed with the voter fraud accussations in Iran. It’s made me realize what a great country I live in and has made me more grateful to those who have fought and died for our freedoms. It’s also made me feel sadness for Iran and my fellow human beings. I pray for their (the Iranian people, our soldiers on foreign soil, and government officials) wellbeing. Therefore the turmoil of a country outside my own has pulled my consciousness toward sympathy for others I normally could not relate to. And therein lies the viewing of the world outside of my immediate realm. That doesn’t mean I quit looking at what’s right in front of me; it just means that sometimes I realize there’s a bigger world out there. As long as you try to look outside yourself, as long as you remember you aren’t the only one on the planet, then you aren’t selfish or a bad person….you’re just…HUMAN. Seek the spiritual connectedness of your fellow human being and you’ll have tapped into the DIVINE. (Not religious connectedness…spiritual…meaning we’re all ONE and connected through our species, needs, feelings, and rights.) Hope this helps.

    Love you,
    Sissy

    • daddymoose says:

      I don’t know about the whole connectedness theory. I agree that there is something there that can connect people but I am leary to say that my cosmos is united with everyone else. However, I do get the point. I am human and I cannot be this perfect drone that I want to be and still be human. If I was perfect then I think others would get annoyed with me. At the same time, recognizing the limitation of being human or of the flesh and not of the spirit makes me realize that others are going to fail me just like I fail them. I shouldn’t settle for failure though. I should just ask them for forgiveness and move forward under their good grace and under God’s grace. I cannot save the world and I DEFINITELY CANNOT save myself.

      Thanks for posting. I had differing feelings about the Iranian election but I definitely had the same thoughts that I am grateful for what we have and that we don’t have to go through riots and political oppression on the levels that they are experiencing in order to get their voice heard. The other part of me was kind of shocked to see so much of a western influence in the pictures that came out of there. Blue jeans, nail polish, American brand-name clothes, etc… It was like, “woah, I didn’t realize their culture had become tainted with some of our stuff.”

      Crazy.

      Lil’ Bro

  2. Amy Bostick says:

    Thinking about yourself is human nature. Everyone does it and it is so easy to do. The hard part is to think outside of “me”. A lady in my sunday school class passed along something her grandmother taught her:

    JOY
    J- Jesus first
    O- Others second
    Y – yourself last

    It amazes me when I practice this how everything else falls into place.

    Also just some friendship ideas. If you are like us we are always on the go or doing something. Take time each week to think of one or two friends who are on your heart. Drop them a card in the mail, send them an e-mail or call them. You would be suprised how much that makes my day and I try to do it for my friends too.

    Next comment and then I have to get ready to go to work! LOL Is don’t beat yourself up when you don’t feel like your being a great friend. Your time will come. Just knowing you are there is a comfort in itself and friends understand. You go through cycles in your life. After we first got married and even when the girls were little we got together with friends quite often. As they grew life seems to center around my kids activities and the times together with friends were fewer. We still called, talked, went to lunch after church but not as much. Now that my girls are older we are reconnecting with these outings with old friends and new friends that God has blessed us with.

    Life is an adventure. Live each day to the fullest. Enjoy all God has given you!

    By the way!!!! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!!

    LOVE ya,

    Amy

    • daddymoose says:

      Hey Amy,

      Thanks for the encouragement. I really like the idea of focusing on a couple of friends each week to touch base with in some way. I can do that.

      Life is definitely an adventure, sometimes it is more crazy than others.

      You are not the first person to tell me about getting down on myself. I don’t know where I get that from but I have struggled with it my whole life it seems like. I want perfection and approval from others. That is part of the problem. My sister said the same thing about human nature being centered on ourselves. Freud said the same things and modern psychology seems to agree as well as Scripture.

      Thanks for posting and for wishing me a happy birthday!

      Keith

Leave a Reply

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

dreamwalker1960

Thoughts out of the blue

