Busy as a beaver at Niagra Falls

I have not been this busy with work and extracurricular activities since the Spring semester of college before I went into the military when I was working forty hours a week, taking 15 hours of school, and trying to play football for Lambuth University on top of commuting 45 minutes each way between school and home.

Currently I work about 45 hours a week (if the weather will stay clear then we will end up around 50 hours a week), I work a second job doing lawn maintenance at a group of condos for a buddy that I work with, I am mowing a friends lawn until her husband returns this Fall from a deployment to Afghanistan, I just took another month long mowing job for a lady who is going to be out of town til mid-May, I am still mentoring about once a week with a kid from then Big Brother Big Sister program, we just started meeting with a small group from church on Wednesday nights and are about to start a marriage study in addition to that with another couple. I think I can find time in between to hug and kiss my wife and kid, eat supper, and sleep.

This will not last and I am planning on being cut back to a normal manageable schedule by the middle of August, if not sooner.

So why bring this up? Because in between all of this there is still a point to life outside of earning money and hanging out with like-minded/same faith people. It all goes back to relationships. No matter how busy I am the relationships that I have are what matters. The relationship I have with my wife and child are critical, second only to the relationship I have in my faith in God. By relationship I don’t mean friendships. Think more of interactive dynamics, meaning interaction with individuals and the impact that we have on one another. This could be the cashier at Kroger, the teller at the bank, my coworkers, the folks I mow for, the people at the condos (one lady just found out this past Thursday that her main artery is 85% blocked and they don’t believe that she would make it through surgery so they told her to call her children together to make a decision, because she could die any day now with or without the surgery), and any body else that I cross paths with day in and day out.

In order for this to be truly what I focus on I have to be sure of what I believe and to prepare myself daily to be a living example of those beliefs. Romans 12:1-2 sums up that reasoning:

“Therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, I urge you to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God; this your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this age, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may discern what is the good, pleasing, and perfect will of God.”

That “good, pleasing, and perfect will of God” is what I believe others should see in me and in turn they will desire. Now the question is, am I living that life? The answer is no. Do I desire to live that life? No. Then why do I write as though I do? Because it is the right mindset to have and sometimes walking in obedience requires going against my own desires because I know it is the right thing to do, rather than what I actually want to do. That is what makes it hard to actually do it.

The illusions continue.

Boris

One thought on “Busy as a beaver at Niagra Falls

  1. davenkim says:

    Whew! I'm tired just READING all that is on your schedule, much less trying to do it! I love your title, though. Can picture that busy beaver at Niagra Falls… I think you do a great job of living out Romans 12:1 & 2.

    Love and Hugs,
    MK

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

