A New Week

Does anybody else out there despise the wind from time to time? I was having a great Sunday when all of a sudden the wind decided to take our grocery bags that we were going to recycle, pull them out of the van, toss them out of the one bag they were in, and spread them all over our lawn with me chasing each one down before it got away into all the neighbor’s lawns. It infuriated me, or rather I allowed myself to be infuriated by it. I maintained calmness on the outside but the inside of me wanted the wind to be a person so I could knock it’s block off and make it stop blowing.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the wind when I am at the beach, trying to fly a kite, hanging out on a mountain top, or if I ever tried to sail or windsurf then I am sure I would love it. Today, however, I wanted nothing to do with the wind. I am so sick of the wind. When it is too windy then I can’t work and when I can’t work then I don’t get paid. When I don’t get paid then the budget shrinks. When the budget shrinks it makes me realize how selfish I really am and shows me what my priorities are financially which in turn reveals my true character. It is not as bad as it could be though and at least I can see the areas that need to be worked on instead of just walking around in ignorance and ticking other people off with my self-righteousness.

I had a tough night on Thursday that made me think, “No wonder people don’t want to be Christians, this lady sure would turn me off of it.” Then I heard some straight to the heart sermons and it really lets you know your true colors when you start hearing the truth. As the missions preacher said today, “do you shun and despise those who are not Christians or does it make you sad?” “Do you turn your nose up at your brother and sister in Christ or do you love them with the same forgiveness that Christ showed you?” Guilty. What am I going to do about it?

I don’t know.

Tomorrow is another day and another opportunity to try and catch myself before saying something despicable or thinking something dishonorably and without humility. As the Word says, “I have been crucified with Christ, it is no longer I who live but Christ who lives in me. The life I live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God who loved me and gave Himself for me.” If I can remember this whenever I find myself not representing the faith well then I believe it will help to keep me on track and to change my attitude and thoughts.

I hope you all have a changed week.

Boris the Illusionist

Leave a Reply

Turtle Savers Anonymous

Helping turtles cross the road....one turtle at a time.

The Closet Atheist

At college, a Christian. At home, a Lutheran. At heart, an atheist.

Convert Corner

Exploring conversion to Judaism

Full Circle Homeschooling

reflections of a second-generation homeschooler

Jonathan Camac

Student of Life. Advocate for serious joy in Christ.

Amanda Jewel's Front Porch

Southern musings, contemplations, and inspirations from Amanda Jewel's front porch

